Tianjin Update

All of Tuesday’s singles matches at the Tianjin Open have been cancelled due to rain.

Maria will play her first round match against No.9 seed Irina-Camelia Begu of Romania on Wednesday. The match will be the second match on Center Court and the order of play begins at 12.00 PM local time (6.00 AM CET, 12.00 AM ET & 9.00 PM PT on Tuesday).

****************************

Maria was due to play top seed Caroline Garcia of France in the first round of the Tianjin Open in Tianjin, China but Garcia had to pull out of the tournament due to injury.

In the first round, Maria will now face No.9 seed Irina-Camelia Begu of Romania. Maria has played the 27-year-old twice before and leads the series 2-0. Here are the matches they have played against each other:
2012 Madrid R1: Maria won 6-0 6-3
2015 Wimbledon R2: Maria won 6-4 6-3

This match will be played on Tuesday and is the second match on Center Court and the order of play begins at 11.30 AM local time (5.30 AM CET, 11.30 PM ET & 8.30 PM PT on Monday).