St. Petersburg Draw

The draw for the St. Petersburg Ladies Open in St. Petersburg, Russia has been released and Maria is unseeded and will play world no.41 Daria Gavrilova of Russia in the first round.

Maria has played the 24-year-old three times before and leads the series 2-1. Here are the matches they have played against each other
2015 Miami R2: Gavrilova won 7-6 6-3
2015 Rome SF: Maria won 7-5 6-3
2018 Rome R3: Maria won 6-3 6-4

This match will be played on Monday, here is Monday’s schedule:
Sibur Arena – 11.00 AM local time start (9.00 AM CET, 3.00 AM ET and 12.00 AM PT)
Veronika Kudermetova (RUS) vs. Margarita Gasparyan (RUS) (8)
Not before 1.00 PM local time (11.00 AM CET, 5.00 AM ET and 2.00 AM PT)
Alison Van Uytvanck (BEL) vs. Kirsten Flipkens (BEL)
Ekaterina Makarova (RUS) vs. Vera Zvonareva (RUS)
Not before 5.00 PM local time (3.00 PM CET, 9.00 AM ET and 6.00 AM PT)
Daria Gavrilova (AUS) vs. Maria Sharapova (RUS)

The first seed Maria can meet is no.3 seed Daria Kasatkina of Russia in the second round.

Maria is making her first appearance in this indoor tournament in Russia’s second largest city.