Rain halts Maria in Montreal

Maria will resume her Rogers Cup match against qualifier Sesil Karatantcheva of Bulgaria in Montreal, Canada on Tuesday as play was cancelled for the evening due to rain.

When play was cancelled, Maria was leading 4-1 40-40.

The match kicked off the evening session on time but only five games were played in this first round match as Maria broke the qualifier to lead 3-1 when the Bulgarian double-faulted. One more game was played, as Maria held her serve to lead 4-1 before the rain started.

There was a glimmer of hope when the courts were dried and play was due to resume at 9.00 PM but after a short warm-up, the rain appeared again.

For a third time the players arrived back on court and got to deuce on Karatantcheva’s serve before light rain started to fall and play was cancelled shortly afterwards for the day.

Here is Tuesday’s schedule:
Court Central – 11.00 AM ET start (5.00 PM CET and 8.00 AM PT)
Johanna Konta (GBR) vs. Jelena Ostapenko (LAT) (11)
Not before 12.30 PM ET (6.30 PM CET and 9.30 AM PT)
Anett Kontaveit (EST) vs. Petra Kvitova (CZE) (8)
Maria Sharapova (RUS) vs. Sesil Karatantcheva (BUL)