Maria wins first match in Tianjin

After a match that was delayed from Tuesday due to rain, Maria is through to the second round of the Tianjin Open in Tianjin, China.

Maria defeated No.9 seed Irina-Camelia Begu of Romania 6-4 6-2 in an hour and 22 minutes.

In the first set, Begu got the first break of serve in the middle of the set but Maria got the break back in the next game. In the final game, Maria broke her opponent’s serve as she took the set 6-4 in 42 minutes.

Maria got the first break in the second set to lead 2-0 and in the final game to win the set 6-2.

In Thursday’s second round match, Maria will play Magda Linette of Poland. Maria has never played the 25-year-old before. The match will be the second match on Center Court and the order of play begins at 12.00 PM local time (6.00 AM CET, 12.00 AM ET & 9.00 PM PT on Wednesday).