Maria wins first match in Stanford

Maria is through to the second round of the Bank of West Classic in Stanford after a 6-1 4-6 6-0 victory over Jennifer Brady of the United States.

The match lasted two hours and 2 minutes as Maria won her first WTA match on her return to the tour after injuring her thigh in May.

Maria built a 3-0 lead in the first set after breaking Brady twice but in the fourth game dropped her serve. Maria then won another three games in a row to win the first set 6-1 in 38 minutes.

In the second set, Maria came from 0-3 down to level the set 3-3 but at that point could only win one of the next four games as her opponent took the set 6-4.

Maria turned the match around in the deciding set as she didn’t drop a game and won match point on a scorching backhand winner.

In the second round, Maria will face No.7 seed Lesia Tsurenko of the Ukraine. Maria has never played the 28-year-old before.

This match will be played on Wednesday and is the third match on Stadium and the order of play begins at 11.00 AM PT (2.00 PM ET & 8.00 PM CET).