Maria through to Tokyo Quarters

Maria defeated No.16 seed Lucie Safarova of the Czech Republic 6-2 7-6 to advance to the quarters of the Toray Pan Pacific Open in Tokyo.

The first set started with a trade of breaks in the first two games. Maria took a 3-1 lead but was broken back in the next game. Maria won the next three games and won the set on her sixth set point when Safarova hit a shot out. First set 6-2 in 36 minutes.

Maria’s run of games continued in the second set as she built a 3-0 lead. Safarova came back to get the set back on serve and twice she was serving for the set at 5-4 and 6-5 but was broken both times. The set was decided by a tie-break which Maria won 7-5 when she hit an ace. Second set 7-6 in 67 minutes

In Thursday’s quarter-final match, Maria will play No.8 seed Samantha Stosur of Australia. The match is the third match on Centre Court and the schedule of play begins at 11.00 AM local time (10.00 PM ET (Wednesday), 7.00 PM PT (Wednesday) and 4.00 AM CET). Maria has played Stosur eleven times before and leads the series 10-1. Here are the matches they have played against each other:
2004 Birmingham R3: Maria won 6-4 6-3
2004 Seoul QF: Maria won 6-2 6-1
2004 Tokyo R3: Maria won 6-4 1-6 6-3
2005 Birmingham R3: Maria won 6-4 3-6 6-1
2006 Tokyo QF: Maria won 6-1 6-4
2009 Tokyo R3: Maria won 6-0 6-1
2011 Miami R4: Maria won 6-4 6-1
2011 Rome Final: Maria won 6-2 6-4
2011 Cincinnati QF: Maria won 6-3 6-2
2011 WTA Championships Round Robin: Stosur won 6-1 7-5
2012 Stuttgart QF: Maria won 6-7 7-6 7-5