Maria through to Ostapenko meeting in Rome

Maria is through to the quarters of the Internazionali BNL d’Italia in Rome, Italy after a straight sets win over Daria Gavrilova of Australia.

The score was 6-3 6-4 in an hour and 38 minutes for Maria’s second win over the Australian.

The match started strongly for Maria as she stormed into a 4-1 lead. Maria broke her opponent again for a third time in the ninth game as she wrapped up the set 6-3 in 38 minutes with a forehand winner.

Gavrilova got an early break to lead 2-0 in the second set. Maria broke Gavrilova’s serve in the fourth game with a forehand winner to level the set 2-2. A drop shot in the sixth game gave Maria another break to lead 4-2. Maria then won two of the next four games to advance to her third quarter-final of 2018.

In Friday’s quarter-final, Maria will face No.5 seed Jelena Ostapenko of Latvia. Maria has never played the current French Open champion before.

Here is Friday’s schedule:
Centrale – 12.00 PM CET start (6.00 AM ET & 3.00 AM PT)
Rafael Nadal (ESP) (1) vs. Fabio Fognini (ITA)
Not before 2.30 PM CET start (8.30 AM ET & 5.30 AM PT)
Maria Sharapova (RUS) vs. Jelena Ostapenko (LAT) (5)