Maria through to Montreal 2nd round

Maria completed her rain delayed match from last night at the Rogers Cup in Montreal, Canada as she defeated Sesil Karatantcheva of Bulgaria 6-1 6-2 in a match time of an hour and 20 minutes to advance to the second round.

The match started at 4-1 40-40 on Karatantcheva’s serve and Maria broke in that game and then held her serve in the next game as she wrapped up the set 6-1 when her opponent hit a shot long.

Maria continued the second set in the same vein as she raced to a 5-2 lead. Serving for the set at 5-2 40-0, Maria booked her spot in the second round when the Bulgarian netted a backhand.

In Wednesday’s second round match, Maria will play No.12 seed Daria Kasatkina (RUS). Maria has never played the 21-year-old before.

Here is Wednesday’s schedule:
Court Central – 11.00 AM ET start (5.00 PM CET and 8.00 AM PT)
Angelique Kerber (GER) (2) vs. Alize Cornet (FRA)
Not before 12.30 PM ET (6.30 PM CET and 9.30 AM PT)
Daria Kasatkina (RUS) (12) vs. Maria Sharapova (RUS)