Maria through to Brisbane Final

Maria is through to her first final of 2015 at the Brisbane International in Brisbane after she defeated Elina Svitolina of the Ukraine 6-1 6-3 in an hour and 24 minutes.

In only 31 minutes, Maria won the first set against the 20-year-old as she broke in the fourth and seventh games and just dropped one game. Maria hit 17 winners to 7 unforced errors.

Maria broke the Ukrainian’s serve in the first and third games of set two. At 5-2, Maria dropped her serve serving for the match but re-grouped in the next game as she broke Svitolina’s serve for the fifth time in the match to book her spot in the final.

In Saturday’s final to be played at 7.00 PM local time (10.00 AM CET/4.00 AM ET/1.00 AM PT), Maria will face No.2 seed Ana Ivanovic of Serbia. Maria has played the 27-year-old thirteen times before and leads the series 9-4. Here are the matches they have played against each other:
2006 Linz QF: Maria won 7-6 7-5
2007 Tokyo SF: Ivanovic won 6-1 0-1 ret
2007 French Open SF: Ivanovic won 6-2 6-1
2007 WTA Championships RR: Maria won 6-1 6-2
2008 Australian Open F: Maria won 7-5 6-3
2012 Indian Wells SF: Maria won 6-4 0-1 ret.
2012 Rome R3: Maria won 7-6 6-3
2013 Stuttgart QF: Maria won 7-5 4-6 6-4
2013 Madrid SF: Maria won 6-4 6-3
2014 Stuttgart F: Maria won 3-6 6-4 6-1
2014 Rome R3: Ivanovic won 6-1 6-4
2014 Cincinnati SF: Ivanovic won 2-6 7-5 5-7
2014 Beijing SF: Maria won 6-0 6-4