Maria shines in Montreal

Maria is through to the third round of the Rogers Cup in Montreal, Canada after a 6-0 6-2 win over No.12 seed Daria Kasatkina of Russia.

The match lasted an hour and 16 minutes as Maria was on fire throughout the whole match as she had 25 winners to her opponent’s 3 winners.

The first set lasted only 35 minutes as Maria wrapped it up with a forehand winner to win it 6-0.

Maria’s form continued in the second set as she she got the first break to lead 3-1 with a stunning forehand winner. Maria broke Kasatkina for a second time in the final game of the match as she hit a forehand return winner to book her spot in the last 16.

Maria talked about the match in her oncourt interview after the match:
‘I came on the court having a lot of respect for my opponent because she’s up and coming but has already established herself. She’s No.12 in the world, which is an incredible achievement at her age. I knew I had a tough match ahead of me. I was focused from the beginning and I finished it that way.’

In Thursday’s third round match, Maria will face No.6 seed Caroline Garcia of France. Maria has played the 24-year-old five times before and leads the series 4-1. Here are the matches they have played against each other:
2011 French Open R2: Maria won 3-6 6-4 6-0
2013 Doha R2: Maria won 6-3 6-2
2014 Brisbane R1: Maria won 6-3 6-0
2015 Madrid R2: Maria won 6-2 4-6 7-5
2018 Stuttgart R2: Garcia won 3-6 7-6 6-4

The match is the first match in the night session and won’t start before 6.30 PM ET (12.30 AM CET on Friday and 3.30 PM PT).

On playing Garcia, Maria said in her oncourt interview:
‘It’s a different opponent, with a really big serve – one of the biggest on tour – so I’ll have to be sharp on the return. I lost to her the last time we played in three long sets, so I’m looking forward to this match and hoping I can do a few things better.’