Maria moves into Brisbane semis

Maria’s impressive play continued at the Brisbane International as she defeated No.7 seed Carla Suarez Navarro of Spain to advance to the semis. Maria won 6-1 6-3┬áin 68 minutes.

After a trade of breaks at the beginning of the first set, Maria broke the Suarez Navarro serve when the Spaniard netted a forehand to lead 2-1 and took of the set by winning four consecutive games to take the set 6-1 in 33 minutes.

Maria’s form continued in set two as a forehand return winner gave Maria the first break of the set to lead 3-1. The one break was enough for Maria to book her spot in the last four as she served out the match in the ninth game and won the match when Suarez Navarro dumped a backhand into the net.

In Friday’s semi-final, Maria will face world no.28 Elina Svitolina of the Ukraine. Maria has played the 20-year-old once before in the second round in Beijing last year and won 6-2 6-2. This match is the second match in the night session and the schedule of play begins at 7.00 PM local time (10.00 AM CET/4.00 AM ET/1.00 AM PT).