Maria into Tianjin Quarters

Maria is through to her second quarter-final of 2017 at the Tianjin Open in Tianjin, China. Maria defeated Magda Linette of Poland 7-5 6-3 in an hour and 38 minutes.

In a close first set on serve, Maria got the only break of the set in the final game as she broke her opponent to wrap up the set 7-5.

Linette got the first break of the second set to lead 2-1. Maria then won five of the next six games to book her spot in the last eight as she took the set 6-3.

After the match, Maria said:
“We did a really good job of holding serve in the first set. I feel like I made a few too many errors on my return game which ultimately led to a difficult first set but once I broke her early in that second set, I played a really good aggressive game and I felt like I had the momentum in the second.”

In Friday’s quarter-final match, Maria will play world no.196 Stefanie Voegele of Switzerland. Maria has never played the 27-year-old before. The match will be the second match on Center Court and the order of play begins at 12.00 PM local time (6.00 AM CET, 12.00 AM ET & 9.00 PM PT on Thursday).