Maria defeats Mladenovic to reach Madrid quarters

Maria is through to the last eight at the Mutua Madrid Open in Madrid, Spain after a 6-3 6-4 win over Kristina Mladenovic of France.

The match lasted an hour and 32 minutes as Maria is through to her first quarter-final since January.

Mladenovic led 3-1 in the first set but Maria stepped up to take five games in a row to win the set 6-3 in 39 minutes. Maria won set point on an ace and had 15 winners to her opponent’s four winners throughout the set.

The second set was close until Maria got the break of serve when her opponent hit a backhand long to lead 4-3. Serving for the match at 5-4 40-15, Mladenovic netted a forehand return as Maria booked her spot in the quarters.

In Thursday’s quarter-final, Maria will face world no.20 Kiki Bertens of the Netherlands. Maria has never played the 26-year-old before.

Here is Thursday’s schedule:
Arantxa Sanchez Court – 12.00 PM CET start (6.00 AM ET & 3.00 AM PT)
David Goffin (BEL) (8) vs. Kyle Edmund (GBR)
Not before 2.00 PM CET (8.00 AM ET & 5.00 AM PT)
Denis Shapovalov (CAN) vs. Milos Raonic (CAN)
Not before 3.30 PM CET (9.30 AM ET & 6.30 AM PT)
Maria Sharapova (RUS) vs. Kiki Bertens (NED)