Maria battles into Tokyo 3rd Round

Maria is through to the third round of the Toray Pan Pacific Open in Tokyo after she defeated Heather Watson of Great Britain. Maria won 6-7 6-3 6-4 in 3 hours and 9 minutes.

Maria broke in the first game of the match but was immediately broken back in the next game. At 5-4, Maria saved two set points and held her serve. After a trade of breaks in the next two games the set was decided by a tie-break which Watson won 9-7.

In the second set Maria broke to lead 2-0, when she hit a backhand crosscourt winner but Watson broke back in the next game. At 3-2, Maria broke Watson’s serve when she hit an overhead but again was broken in the next game. At 4-3, Maria won the next two games and won set point when Watson hit a shot long.

After some breaks at the beginning of the third set, Maria got the decisive break to lead 4-3 when Watson hit a shot wide. Maria won two of the next three games to take the match and won matchpoint on a shot long by Watson.

In Wednesday’s third round match, Maria will play No.16 seed Lucie Safarova of the Czech Republic. Maria has played Safarova once before at Madrid on clay in 2010 and Safarova won 6-4 6-3. The match is the third match on Centre Court and the schedule of play begins at 11.00 AM local time (10.00 PM ET (Tuesday), 7.00 PM PT (Tuesday) and 4.00 AM CET).