Maria advances to Tianjin semis

It took Maria only 64 minutes to advance to the semis at the Tianjin Open in Tianjin, China as she defeated Stefanie Voegele of Switzerland.

Maria won 6-3 6-1 as she advanced to her second semi-final of 2017.

In the first set, Maria broke her opponent twice but lost her serve once as she won the set 6-3. Maria had an impressive statistic of 92% of points won on first serve.

The second set was more comfortable as Maria dropped only one game en route to the last four.

In Saturday’s semi, Maria will play No.3 seed Peng Shuai of China.This match is the second match on Centre Court and should start at around 2.00 PM local time (8.00 AM CET, 2.00 AM ET & 11.00 PM PT on Friday). Maria has played the 31-year-old six times before and leads the series 5-1. Here are the matches they have played against each other:
2005 Berlin R2: Maria won 6-2 6-1
2009 Beijing R3: Peng won 6-2 6-4
2011 Indian Wells QF: Maria won 6-2 5-7 6-3
2011 Wimbledon R4: Maria won 6-4 6-2
2012 French Open R3: Maria won 6-2 6-1
2015 Australian Open R4: Maria won 6-3 6-0

Maria talks about the match:
“Obviously she really likes playing here and is the defending champion, so she feels really good about the court and the atmosphere. We haven’t played in a long time and I know that it will be a tough match, just because it’s the semifinals and when you get to the latter stages it’s not getting easier. She really likes playing here and is playing well, and I hope to rise to the occasion.”