Maria advances to French Open quarters after Williams withdraws

Maria is into the quarters at the French Open in Paris after Serena Williams withdrew due to injury.

The 36-year-old withdrew due an arm injury.

Maria said:
“I was looking forward to my match against Serena today and am disappointed that she had to withdraw. I wish her a speedy recovery and hope she returns to the tour soon.”

Maria will be playing in her ninth quarter-final on the clay courts in the French capital on Wednesday at 2.00 PM CET (8.00 AM ET and 5.00 AM PT). Maria’s opponent will be No.3 seed Gabrine Muguruza of Spain.

Maria has played the 24-year-old three times before and leads the series 3-0. Here are the matches they have played against each other:
2013 Rome R2: Maria won 6-2 6-2
2014 French Open QF: Maria won 1-6 7-5 6-1
2014 Montreal R2: Maria won 4-6 6-3 6-1

In the WTA rankings, Maria provisionally moves up to 23rd with 1943 points.