Madrid Draw

The draw for the Mutua Madrid Open in Madrid, Spain has been released and Maria has been drawn to play world no.37 Mihaela Buzarnescu of Romania in the first round.

Maria has played the 29-year-old once before in the first round of Shenzhen this year and won 6-3 6-0.

This match will be played on Sunday, here is the schedule:
Arantxa Sanchez Court – 11.00 AM CET start (5.00 AM ET & 2.00 AM PT)
Pierre-Hugues Herbert (FRA) vs. Evgeny Donskoy (RUS)
Barbora Strycova (CZE) vs Carla Suarez Navarro (ESP)
Not before 1.30 PM CET (7.30 AM ET & 4.30 PM PT)
Mihaela Buzarnescu (ROU) vs. Maria Sharapova (RUS)

The first seed Maria can meet is No.5 seed Jelena Ostapenko of Latvia in the second round.

Maria is making her eighth appearance in the Spanish capital and her best result was taking the title in 2014. Last year Maria reached the second round.