Brisbane R1: Maria vs. Makarova

Maria will begin her 2016 at the Brisbane International on Tuesday.

Maria’s opponent will be Ekaterina Makarova of Russia. Maria has played the 27-year-old six times before and leads the series 6-0. Here are the matches they have played against each other:
2011 Madrid R2: Maria won 6-3 3-6 6-1
2011 Rome R2: Maria won 6-1 6-1
2012 Australian Open QF: Maria won 6-2 6-3
2012 Miami R4: Maria won 6-4 7-6
2013 Australian Open QF: Maria won 6-2 6-2
2015 Australian Open SF: Maria won 6-3 6-2

Here is Tuesday’s schedule:
Pat Rafter Arena – 11.00 AM start (2.00 AM CET, 8.00 PM ET & 5.00 PM PT on Monday)
David Goffin (BEL) vs. Thomas Bellucci (BRA) (6)
James Duckworth (AUS) vs. Dominic Thiem (AUT) (8)
Not before 2.00 PM (5.00 AM CET, 11.00 PM ET & 8.00 PM PT on Monday)
Maria Sharapova (RUS) (3) vs. Ekaterina Makarova (RUS)