Australian Open R4: Maria vs. Barty

On Sunday, Maria will face No.15 seed Ashleigh Barty of Australia for a place in the quarter-finals at the Australian Open in Melbourne.

Maria has played the 22-year-old once before last year in the 1st round in Rome and won 7-5 3-6 6-2.

On playing Barty, Maria said:
“I think her story is phenomenal. She loves playing here. I know she took a little break and came back and resurged and is doing incredibly well. I know it’s going to be a tough crowd, but I go out here and perform and play tennis. I love the opportunity.”

Here is Sunday’s schedule:
Rod Laver Arena
11.00 AM local time start (1.00 AM CET on Saturday, 7.00 PM ET and 4.00 PM PT)
Petra Kvitova (CZE) (8) vs. Amanda Anisimova (USA)
Not before 12.30 PM local time (2.30 AM CET on Saturday, 8.30 PM ET and 5.30 PM PT)
Ashleigh Barty (AUS) (15) vs. Maria Sharapova (RUS) (30)