Australian Open R3: Maria vs. Williams

Maria will play her first match under the lights at the Australian Open in Melbourne on Friday. In one of the most intriguing match-ups of the third round, Maria will face No.25 seed Venus Williams of the United States.

The match is due to start at 7.00 PM local time (9.00 AM CET, 3.00 AM ET and 12.00 AM PT).

Maria has played Williams seven times before and leads the series 4-3, here are the matches they have played against each other:
2004 Zurich Quarter-Final: Maria won 6-3 6-4
2005 Miami Semi-Final: Maria won 6-4 6-3
2005 Wimbledon Semi-Final: Williams won 7-6 6-1
2007 Miami 3rd Round: Maria won 2-6 6-2 7-5
2007 Wimbledon 4th Round: Williams won 6-1 6-3
2009 Stanford Quarter-Final: Williams won 6-2 6-2
2012 Rome Quarter-Final: Maria won 6-4 6-3