News

Maria wins first match in Istanbul

Posted on October 23, 2012

Maria defeated Sara Errani of Italy 6-3 6-2 in her first match at the TEB BNP Paribas WTA Championships in Istanbul, Turkey.

Maria took a 2-0 lead in the first set but Errani came back to level the set 2-2. Maria re-took control of the set as she broke to lead 4-2 with a forehand winner. In the final game of the set, Maria hit a forehand down the line winner on set point to take the set 6-3 in 55 minutes.

In the second set, Maria broke Errani's serve to love in the first game and to lead 4-1. Maria then won two of the next three games to get her first win at this tournament since 2007.

On Wednesday, Maria will play her second round robin match against Agnieszka Radwanska of Poland. This match will be the third match on court and the schedule of play begins at 5.00 PM local time (4.00 PM CET, 10.00 AM ET & 7.00 AM PT). Maria has played Radwanska nine times before and leads the series 7-2, here are the matches they have played against each other:
2007 Istanbul QF: Maria won 6-2 3-6 6-0
2007 US Open R3: Radwanska won 6-4 1-6 6-2
2008 Doha SF: Maria won 6-4 6-3
2009 Toronto QF: Maria won 6-2 7-6
2009 Tokyo SF: Maria won 6-3 2-6 6-4 
2010 Stanford SF: Maria won 1-6 6-2 6-2
2010 Cincinnati R3: Maria won 6-2 6-3
2011 Roland Garros R4: Maria won 7-6 7-5
2012 Miami F: Radwanska won 7-5 6-4

Close

Login errors occured

We're sorry, the username or email address you're trying to use is already taken. please try again.

Close

Register for the latest on Maria Sharapova.

Already a member? Sign in.

Forgot Password

Enter the email address you registered with.

Forgot Username

Enter the email address or username you registered with.

Change your password.

Enter your current and desired password.

Close

Update your profile information.