News

Australian Open: Maria vs. Williams

Posted on January 17, 2013

Maria will play her first match under the lights at the Australian Open in Melbourne on Friday. In one of the most intriguing match-ups of the third round, Maria will face No.25 seed Venus Williams of the United States.

The match is due to start at 7.00 PM local time (9.00 AM CET, 3.00 AM ET and 12.00 AM PT).

Maria has played Williams seven times before and leads the series 4-3, here are the matches they have played against each other:
Zurich 2004 Quarter-Final: Maria won 6-3 6-4
Miami 2005 Semi-Final: Maria won 6-4 6-3
Wimbledon 2005 Semi-Final: Williams won 7-6 6-1
Miami 2007 3rd Round: Maria won 2-6 6-2 7-5
Wimbledon 2007 4th Round: Williams won 6-1 6-3
Stanford 2009 Quarter-Final: Williams won 6-2 6-2
Rome 2012 Quarter-Final: Maria won 6-4 6-3

Close

Login errors occured

We're sorry, the username or email address you're trying to use is already taken. please try again.

Close

Register for the latest on Maria Sharapova.

Already a member? Sign in.

Forgot Password

Enter the email address you registered with.

Forgot Username

Enter the email address or username you registered with.

Change your password.

Enter your current and desired password.

Close

Update your profile information.